Malaysia with Friends prt15

Boattrip to Pulau Ketam with Yuko prt65

Boattrip to Pulau Ketam with Yuko prt65

More from Pulau Ketam prt3. I liked it a lot out there. And after working on these shots; and since my ‘buffer of astonishment’ is uploaded into my working memory, I know why: This village feels grown. Not designed in some kind of masterplan. The houses are ‘individuals’; like the people who live in them. If I want to change something on the outside of my house, I need permission and it should be done according the rules. If I want something different, I won’t get a building license. In this village you just get yourself some wood; metal and paint and do it. If you want new colours on your house, just do it. And if things are getting too old, they just die. I think this village resonated with my desire for freedom and simple. organic life. But if you desire something, you don’t have it… Maybe I should delete certain parts of my working memory… 😉

Boattrip to Pulau Ketam with Yuko prt66

Boattrip to Pulau Ketam with Yuko prt66

Boattrip to Pulau Ketam with Yuko prt67

Boattrip to Pulau Ketam with Yuko prt67

Boattrip to Pulau Ketam with Yuko prt68

Boattrip to Pulau Ketam with Yuko prt68

Boattrip to Pulau Ketam with Yuko prt69

Boattrip to Pulau Ketam with Yuko prt69

Boattrip to Pulau Ketam with Yuko prt70

Boattrip to Pulau Ketam with Yuko prt70

Boattrip to Pulau Ketam with Yuko prt71

Boattrip to Pulau Ketam with Yuko prt71

Boattrip to Pulau Ketam with Yuko prt72

Boattrip to Pulau Ketam with Yuko prt72

Boattrip to Pulau Ketam with Yuko prt73

Boattrip to Pulau Ketam with Yuko prt73

Boattrip to Pulau Ketam with Yuko prt74

Boattrip to Pulau Ketam with Yuko prt74

Boattrip to Pulau Ketam with Yuko prt75

Boattrip to Pulau Ketam with Yuko prt75

Boattrip to Pulau Ketam with Yuko prt76

Boattrip to Pulau Ketam with Yuko prt76

Boattrip to Pulau Ketam with Yuko prt77

Boattrip to Pulau Ketam with Yuko prt77

Boattrip to Pulau Ketam with Yuko prt78

Boattrip to Pulau Ketam with Yuko prt78

Boattrip to Pulau Ketam with Yuko prt79

Boattrip to Pulau Ketam with Yuko prt79

6 comments
  1. Very nice series of photos you have been posting about your trip to Malaysia. It certainly makes me want to go…(Suzanne)

    • Merci, Suzanne. Just do it… you won’t be disappointed. 😉

  2. nannus said:

    Looking at these pictures and at these children, I think this must be a very nice place to spend your childhood.

    • I have not seen shy or unhappy kids out there. I think it’s better to grow up in a colourful, but not so luxurious village like this, than being driven to a McDonalds in a SUV all the time..

Leave a Reply

