Malaysia with Friends prt3

660

660

Jetlagging around, my first impression of Kuala Lumpur was: everything was bigger than ‘the big’ I knew. The first shot was taken in an enormous supermarket, with stuff from all over the world; even ‘my Old Amsterdam cheese’ was there. At the bottom the bigger-than-ever 660ml beers… even the awful tasting Heineken that does not deserve a huge bottle like that.

Piling up

Piling up

There was a lot of building activity going on. According to Bjรถrn without decent planning; the solving-problems-way; but fast.

Jungle, Kampung and Towers

Jungle, Kampung and Towers

The developing City

The developing City

The shot-in-the-back-warning

The shot-in-the-back-warning

Even Tulips

Even Tulips

Neighbours

Neighbours

From Bjรถrn’s house in Mont Kiara we walked towards this ‘mont’. On our way we crossed a low-rise neighbourhood.

Crawling up a Wall

Crawling up a Wall

Over the Fence

Over the Fence

Green Roofs

Green Roofs

Abstract on a Car

Abstract on a Car

Neighbours prt2

Neighbours prt2

10 comments
  1. Piling up and Crawling up a Wall are my favorits. ๐Ÿ™‚ But i like the concept.

    • And the sun wasn’t shining either… ; at least not at that moment. Despite the sign, we walked into a few buildingsites, without any shooting…; in fact most people were very friendly. To my Dutch standards, the houses were very well protected with high fences and security-guards. May be that’s quite normal in a huge city with an enormous difference between rich and poor.

  2. You don’t often see this kinds of photos of Malaysia! Very interesting indeed, thank you ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Welcome and thank you for dropping by and leaving a reply. I was visiting a good friend of mine, who lives in KL for almost 2 years now. He showed me a lot of places I would not have seen ‘as a tourist’. And I like to shoot the non-obvious shots… ๐Ÿ™‚ More to come, so stay tuned if you like. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. bmupicks said:

    I really love the way you write and illustrate your story my friend. That first photo โ€œ660โ€ really is fantastic. I didn’t even see any potential shots while we roamed the aisles; I was too busy looking for something better than Heineken ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • Hello Mr bmupicks, formerly known as Mr bmupix. ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks for the compliments, my friend. I remember that my first trigger was the division of the frame in four vertical parts as a compositional opportunity. Then I waited till there were people on both sides. Yesterday I got the idea to use the 660 bottle as a symbol for the ‘bigger than big’ experience. A symbol close to our habits… ๐Ÿ˜€ Cheers!

Leave a Reply

