Mexico from Slides prt4: Teotihuacán

The Pyramid of the Sun, taken from The pyramid of the Quetzalcoatl

The Pyramid of the Sun, taken from The pyramid of the Quetzalcoatl

(8 shots) From The Pyramid of the Quetzalcoatl we had a great side-view on the largest Pyramid of Teotihuacán; the Pyramid of the Sun.

Avenue of the Dead

Avenue of the Dead

The ‘main road’ of Teotihuacán is enormous. It was called “Miccoatli” which means: “Avenue of the Dead” (I like it even better in German: “Totenweg”). At the end is the Pyramid of the Moon. It starts with several terraces that are connected by rough stairs. When reaching the highest level, the view is immense. I imagined thousands of people, chanting together, while somewhere upon one of those huge pyramides an animal or human being was sacrificed, for reasons nobody knows for sure anymore.

Avenue of the Dead, upper level

Avenue of the Dead, upper level

Approaching the Pyramid of the Sun

Approaching the Pyramid of the Sun

The way up

The way up

The largest Pyramid is the Pyramid of the Sun. Got it’s name from the Aztecs, who did not start to build it. It’s not clear who were the founders of Teotihuacán; but the Aztecs entered the City after it was abandoned for quite some time. The Pyramid of the Sun was completed around 100 AD… According to just one Wikipedia-page the Pyramid is 65.5; 71.2 and 75 meters high; so pick what you like, but believe me, it’s very high. I’m not a hero when it comes to climbing on structures that were designed by the human brain; but this one I had to conquer. The higher I got, the more the vertigo took hold of my muscles and mind; but finally I reached the top. Enormous view over the site. The worst moment for me was to start the descent; that ridge with ‘nothing’, pulling on me. The first two stairs I did sitting on the butt. 🙂 Then things got better and I was glad to find myself on the ‘Totenweg’ again. I did not climb the Pyramid of the Moon, which was less high, but much steeper.

Along the front-side

Along the front-side

View from the Pyramid of the Sun

View from the Pyramid of the Sun

Looking back

Looking back

7 comments
  1. Malin Ellisdotter H said:

    Wonderful post, my friend.

  2. Yes, it’s definitly no Avenue. great photos of a cosmic place Harrie!

Leave a Reply

