India from Slides prt11: The day of the Oven

My bedroom

My bedroom | digitized from slide

I woke up for a special day on the farm: pottery-day. People would come to the farm to be part of firing the oven with ceramics they made. It was part of a project to learn them new pottery techniques. They had made water-jars all their life. But ceramic water-jars were replaced by plastic ones, that still looked like the ceramic ones; but were made in mass-production and therefore cheaper. So their source of income had completely dried out. The project was initiated by Padma, who had studied pottery on a school of arts. She had teached the water-jar-makers how to make candlesticks, vases, mobiles and other things that might make some money. The people had dressed themselves in their finest clothes and they had walked for more than 4 hours to reach the farm. It was a special day for them. In the afternoon, when the oven was on fire, some government people came along to see how the project they financed was doing. Well, the project was hot!

Base material

Base material | digitized from slide

Strange New

Strange New | digitized from slide

That's the way

That’s the way | digitized from slide

Inside the Oven

Inside the Oven | digitized from slide

Closing the Oven

Closing the Oven | digitized from slide

The Waiting

The Waiting | digitized from slide

The Financiers

The Financiers | digitized from slide

The Heat is on

The Heat is on | digitized from slide

Checking the results

Checking the results | digitized from slide

After a long and Busy day

After a long and Busy day | digitized from slide

10 comments
  1. Damn those plastic water bottles . .. . gorgeous slides Harrie!

    • Thanks Patti. It was also stunning to see how awkward they worked on the ‘modern’ rotating disc; and what amazing skills they showed when they worked on the old rotating wheel, which they had to speed-up every 15 seconds with one hand.

  2. Malin H said:

    I say: Interesting!
    And I must say that I like the atmosphere in the last image.

    • I say: Thank you! There is a silent tension in the last one; I did not take it myself, ’cause I’m the one on the right. (I don’t remember the moment; but it could be that we both wanted the third person to stop taking photo’s; me, because I don’t like people to fiddle around with my camera anyway; especially not in those days with limited slide-film-stock; and she didn’t like to be photographed at all). But he did a good job 🙂

      • Malin H said:

        I say: Okey! 🙂
        I know what you mean, I don’t like when people fiddling with my camera either. And as you say, in those days… Anyway, it’s a nice image and I agree with you about the silent tension, now when you mention it.

        • I say: In those days I used to buy two 5-slidefilm-sale-packages when I went on a travel. When lucky, that would lead to 380 slides. But in India I had to buy extra; so there is a lot more to come 🙂

  3. Jag said:

    I like your Indian pictures very much. I went to India about twelve years ago, but we did not travel so much, I was not so strong and needed rest.

    • Thank you, Jag. It’s a demanding country, physical as well as mental. I was lucky to stay with people I had met in the Netherlands. So I was part of Indian life and had the opportunity to do things that I wouldn’t have done as a tourist.

Leave a Reply

