India from Slides prt4: The Farm

The Alpha Centauri Farm

The Alpha Centauri Farm | digitized from slide

The busdriver gave me my nod and I got off the bus. So far, so good. The only thing I had from the place that I was heading for, was it’s name: ‘Alpha Centauri’. I showed it to several people, but soon I got the impression that none of them was able to read; nor spoke English. A bit further on sat a guy in uniform that looked important. I asked him if he spoke English. He kept looking strict and straight forward, but after a while he nodded. I showed him my address-book. He studied it carefully and then he shouted something over his shoulder. Three guys rushed towards him and they started a non-structured conversation in a strange language that lasted at least ten minutes. Then he spoke to me: “Follow this road till you pass a small bridge; then turn left and follow the road; after 20-30 minutes you will find this place”. I thanked him and the others and started walking. Just before I left the village three guys came running after me. I didn’t know what they were saying, but from their gestures I understood that they wanted me to wait. One of them ran off and returned with a moped and a big smile. I sat-down on the luggage-holder and there we went. He drove me straight to ‘Alpha Centauri’. Of course I gave him some money. Destination reached! After the welcome, Padma and her husband Kedar asked me how I found their farm. The moped-driver turned out to be their motorbike-repair-man. “How much did you give him”. “25”, I answered and they had their laugh of the day. Every time we entered the village, the repair-man was sitting in front of his little house. “Hey, friend!!”, he shouted, and waved to me with his bottle.

Padma

Padma | digitized from slide

Kedar

Kedar | digitized from slide

Pouring Rain

Pouring Rain | digitized from slide

The Garden

The Garden | digitized from slide

The Gardner and the Dog

The Gardner and the Dog | digitized from slide

Washing Tool

Washing Tool | digitized from slide

The Veranda

The Veranda | digitized from slide

6 comments
    • Thank you. It was the first time I was travelling alone, so I had to do what I had to do; but I did not feel that comfortable all the time 😉

  1. Malin H said:

    I say: I agree with “FarAway Peach Garden”, you’re brave.
    Thank you for sharing, Harrie.

    • I say: Thanks a lot, Malin! It is fun to go through these old slides, after many, many years. See you!

Leave a Reply

