NOT Abandoned

NOT Abandoned

NOT Abandoned | digitized from slide

How things can change. About a month ago I complimented a post with shots from slides, including the fingertips that held the slides, with the original way of presenting (old) slides. I ended up my comment with saying that it would take too much time to digitize my old slides and that they would not show-up on my blog. 2 Weeks later I visited one of my best friends who (unfortunately for our friendship) was packing his stuff to head for Kuala Lumpur, where his wife had found a new job. He wasn’t in the position to take a lot of belongings and he asked if I was interested in his DiaFilmScanner. So I took the thing home and digitized a couple of slides the next day. I wasn’t smashed by the quality, after I had imported them into Lightroom. Hardly any dynamic range. But when I switched to B&W, the shots started to gain some ‘old-on-the-road’-character, which I liked. And it is also fun to re-live an old trip while going through slides I haven’t seen for many years. Here is the first one. It was taken in Bombay; and the first thing I saw when I stepped out of my hotel, the morning after my arrival. On the other side of the road were lots of junk-sheds like these in the dirt; and: people were actually living in them …..

(looks best full screen; click once; and once more on the image and then F11)

4 comments
  1. Interesting story. And I’m looking forward to your new series.

Leave a Reply

