Angels and Lenses

Sweet Bokeh

Sweet Bokeh | SONY A7 | SONY Zeiss FE 55mm. f/1.8 | 1/2500 | F2.5 | ISO 100

This Wednesday I had the opportunity to play around with two SONY-Zeiss lenses on my brand new A7; thanks to a good friend. The first lens is the SONY Zeiss FE 55mm. f/1.8; and the 2nd one is the very small/light SONY Zeiss FE 35mm. f/2.8. I wanted to see how good they are, compared to my faithful Zeiss 50mm. f/2 ZF.2. Well, to make it quick: Both are very good lenses; designed for the ‘awful-lot-of-megapixels-sensors’ of today; and therefore slightly better than my 50mm. manual lens. So, I’ll have to sell something I love …

An Angel at my Table

An Angel at my Table | SONY A7 | SONY Zeiss FE 55mm. f/1.8 | 1/320 | F3.5 | ISO 100

It’s amazing what crops are possible!

Cropped Angel

Cropped Angel | SONY A7 | SONY Zeiss FE 55mm. f/1.8 | 1/320 | F3.5 | ISO 100

Two almost the same shots with the 55mm. and the 35mm.. Both are very sharp, but for me the 55mm. has the better bokeh.

Angel 55

Angel 55 | SONY A7 | SONY Zeiss FE 55mm. f/1.8 | 1/2000 | F2 | ISO 100

Angel 35

Angel 35 | SONY A7 | SONY Zeiss FE 35mm. f/2.8 | 1/1250 | F2.8 | ISO 100

11 comments
    • Yes, that would be great; and a super-wide would be nice as well.

  1. Very nice. I would love to get my hands on the A7 someday.

    • I’m very happy with mine!!! wonder why people chose for Nikon knowing it’s all Sony in there….. šŸ˜€ The only lenses I should like to add are the Sony-Zeiss 135 mm (macro) and an 800mm tele; the latter being far out of reach (financially)…..

      • So, you have one too; great! A tele-macro would sure be nice. I don’t need a super tele in the Netherlands, as nothing is far away šŸ˜‰

        • Being Dutch myself (born and bred in Beneden-Leeuwen) the ‘nothing is far away’ was the reason to move to a more spacious environment. šŸ˜‰

  2. Hi Harrie,
    I have an advantage here, having seen the full sized originals in all their glory. In this case, of the two angels taken with both the FE35 and the FE55, I actually prefer the 35mm shot. The wider background and less depth of field give the angel more context and make it seem as if the wings are stirring up the surroundings. This is a magnificent set, including the B&W shot in the previous post.

    • Thanks Amigo; and thanks for letting me shoot around with your lenses! I agree on your FE35-more-context-point. The FE55-shot is more a portrait-shot. Cheers!

    • Yes; I made a lot of wonderful shots with it; and then it became sort of a friend you can rely on. On the other hand: All things must pass.

Leave a Reply

